Chapter 14> continued…

Still not done with this chapter. My computer is acting rather glitchy with the mouse and keeps highlighting and deleting things… So in leu of not deleting everything I’ve decided to give it a rest and reboot tomorrow. Here is what I got down before I got to anxious to continue…

Unfortunately her parent’s wouldn’t hear of it. Her mother an father were both dead set against it, as they were both homeschooled themselves.

“I don’t understand the problem,” she had griped. “You both seem to have turned out very well. Both went to college and are highly educated well functioning adults so far as I can tell.”

“Indeed,” her mother had replied. “I consider myself very intelligent, and your father more so. That is not the issue at hand though, is it?”

“I don’t know, obviously. As I just stated I don’t understand the problem.”

Exasperated her mother sighed, “Rydell, do you enjoy being around people?”

“Aside from when I don’t understand you and Dad, I very much enjoy being around you, yes.”

Her mother chuckled faintly, “No. Not us. New people. Do you feel energized or drained when you meet new people?”

Rydell could feel her brows arch and scrunch together in confusion, “Most often drained, I guess. Why? What does that have to do with you not wanting me to be homeschooled?”

“If you had said with definite assurance you had felt energized, I’d be more willing to say yes to it. Homeschooling is a very solitary sort of growing up experience. Most who do it stay in one place. We travel. A lot. As it is though you said no. And for someone like you who doesn’t feel the drawing urge to meet new people, you’d likely not venture out to do so very often. You’d be fine cooped up in the house only getting out when you had to.”

Rydell unmentionably blew a raspberry through her clenched lips, “It’s not like I’m a hermit and have absolutely no social skills. I can hold a conversation, know my manners, and whatever else it is your scared I wont acquire if I don’t go to public school.”

Her mother laughed full out. “I’m not concerned with your manners or social skills. Those come just fine by your dad and my company. It’s more about being around people. Talking or not, or slurping your soup with your elbows on the table. There is something to be said for human interaction outside one’s on family. While I’d be honored if you wanted to turn out just like me or your father I’d never feel comfortable with it if we were your primary source of companionship. I more than anything, want you to be independent. Not to be a replica of me or your dad but to be your own person. And that only really happens with experiences outside of just us.”

Rydell hadn’t left the conversation on good terms. She still huffed and puffed and debated with her mother for another thirty minutes until, finally at the end of her rope, her patients snapped. “I’ve said my peace about it Rydell. While I’ll listen to your side, in the end I’m your mother and my word and your fathers casts the final vote. Though I sincerely hope you know we don’t do it to cause you pain in any way, we do in fact love you, but out of the fact that it’s best for you. Something that we both believe in because of our own personal experience and the wisdom of 30 something years behind us.” She sighed in deep resignation, “Now, go to bed, I’m done talking about it.”

She hadn’t understood and spent the night tossing and turning in agitation. She’d had lots of friends. She’d managed to make at least a few friends at each new school.

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

