A Slice of the Thirty-First 3.31.2016

“Th-Th-Th That’s all folks”

-Porky Pig-

It’s the last day for Slice of Life. It went both fast and slow. Really, the school year in general has sped by. It amazes me every school year, just how fast nine months really is.

I’ll  admit that this challenge was more difficult than I had thought it would be. First, it was difficult to conceive of a topic for thirty-one straight days. Sometimes I’d get to eleven o’clock at night and have absolutely no idea what I could possibly write about. Secondly, it was difficult to find enough down time to write. Being in the middle of a masters degree and a full time career really doesn’t give me much free time. There is an awful lot of writing and reading to do in college. I will say that it is easier now that I am older (than I was for my associates and bachelors) to organize my time, delineate the essential from the expendable, and muster the will-power to buckle down and get things done. All of that in conjunction with my desire to get my Masters done as fast as (sanely) possible (I took one and a half years as opposed to the two years that is expected) means I have little to no free time. What free time I do have ,I really just want to lay down and rest. Writing (after having done it all day for school) was not a exciting proposition every day.

Now that the last day is here I am kind of sad to see it go. I really do enjoy writing. I’m hoping that next year I wont have quite as many responsibilities. I’m hoping that I’ll have enough time to sit down and be as creative as possible. In fact, I think I’d really like to use next years blog to write a continuous fictional story. I’m already excited about next year!

…Until we meet again.

 

Leave a Reply

